The Daily Drivel(vol.3 issue 49)

…Dateline The Cats Castle East Tennessee USA…

…Well once again I have proven that some days I just shouldn’t be allowed out of the house alone…

…Had a couple errands that wanted doing..Off to the dump,drop off some stuff at the market,go to the grocery store…

…Just the mundanes..the mundanes and only the mundanes…

…But ya know the RODT had other ideas…

…Down the road right past the grocery store..that being the last stop I NEED to make…

…Where are we going I says to the truck…

…Yup you guessed it..no answer…

…Helplessly I drive the old beast as it drags me right through downtown Newport…

…Out across the Pigeon river headed towards North Carolina for crying out loud…

…But much to my relief the RODT has decided I’m going to the new indoor flea market off the other end of town…

…Well I figure I’m there so might as well have a look around…

…Lot’s of stuff,some really nice stuff but the dang place is priced for the tourist who happens on by…

…Or the folks wanting some goods to take home…

…NOT for a seasoned(cough,cough)Professional Procurement Dude like me…

…Having meandered around and satisfied myself that the RODT should not have brought me here I strat heading for the exit…

…And walk right up to a couple of BEAUTIFUL chest style dressers…

…I mean these suckers were 99% perfect and one was vintage bordering on antique…

…Nothing overly fancy but just wonderful pieces…

…Open the drawers and they glide with a smoothness seldom found even on new pieces…

…No repairs,scars,dents or dings and I just know better then to ask on price…

…But by now I hear the voices in my head so the yapper opens up with ye ages old qusetion..How much?…

…The answer was about what I expected at $75 per unit…

…Now is when I’m supposed to be walking away but instead the old yapper says..How much for the pair?…

…Well the nice old gent says I can’t go less than $65 each…

…Yup says I they’re sure woth that and more really..How about $100 for the pair?…

…Ya see the voices are nearly in total control now and the truck is hollering for something to take home to Miss Leslie…

…BUT I am a STRONG man and resisting the temptation…

…Well the nice man says I guess I could take $60 each if you want both…

…So I pull on the drawers,foldle them,start drooling and note the partial shipping tag on the one piece…

…And then..I wish the man a good day and walk out the door…

…Jump back in the RODT and head for the nearest grocery store to get what the Lady asked for…

…Stopped to drop my change in the Salvation Army guy’s bucket,went in got my stuff wishing I had brought a phone so I could call Miss Leslie and have her check on that partial tag…

…Next thing I know that danged old truck has taken me right back out to the indoor flea market…

…You just know what happened next…

…I marched right up to that nice man and we proceded to discuss how each of us was likely to get shot at the end of the day…

…Him for selling and I for BUYING those dressers at $120.00 for the pair…

…Turns out his wife runs the downtown antique store and I’ve seen her prices…

…Yup he’s goona git it..and I figure so am I cause I just blew my entire cash reserves and some of the site rent money…

…But hey the rent ain’t due till Tuesday next so it’s ok,ok,ummmm,yup it’s fine…

…Damn those voices in my head and that danged old truck…

…You know other men would surprise their gal with a dozen roses or something but not me,nope…

…I go home and tell Miss Leslie that that bottle of clam oil just cost her $122.50…

…And that,my fine feathered friends,is why I shouldn’t be let out alone…

…Yall have a GREAY day and hope for my survival now..Ya hear…

……….Thecatsman PhD/PPD(school of hard knocks..Ret.)………

This entry was posted in Chronicles, Life, Life Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

