A Place I Go

…”Lord knows when the cold wind blows it’ll turn your head around.” James Taylor if I remember correctly.This is one of the song lines that just hangs out in the dusty chambers of my mind.Passing time,waiting to slip out from the cobwebs and find it’s way to the fore.Today I’m not surprised this particular line came wandering out of the sometimes hazy recesses where the wandering wordsmith travels collecting the thoughts and notions to assemble and present for pontification.

…My feet took me wandering the streets on this bitterly cold winter’s day.With the air tempature in the low single digits and the wind blowing it was a chilly walk to take.I often question my sanity as I wander cold streets alone.Playing in the chambers of my mind rolling around amoungest the thoughts and notions that are hiding there.Causaly looking around to see if any matters of import are lurking in the shadows or caught in the cobwebs crying out for release.Be it the cold winter air or the pounding of foot on pavement that leads me I find I am compelled to take the journey within.Exploring the dark places and light ones alike just to discover what may be found there.

…Some days the happy go lucky wonder of my inner child presents itself to be coddled and examined and others the worrisome grown man asserts himself to bring to the fore his matters of seeming import.It matters not what thoughts and notions present themselves.All are examined and regaurded or disregaurded as needs be for the moment in time thatr my conscious attention has been garnered by them.All the while a constant foot pounding rythm beating against the snow covered unrelenting surfaces of these city streets where my soul is forced to wander.

…These sometimes uncontrolable urges to wander the streets will take a heavy toll.The cold winter air keeps the onset of the aches and pains at bay only for a while.Tonight when I lay down to sleep and surely by morning’s light the old bag of bones will have it’s protests heard and acknowledged.This has become the accepted price to pay for the journey within.The compulsion to examine the deeper reaches and corners of the man inside is not detered by the physical debt to be incurred.I want to know who I am and why I have become the person who looks out at me from the mirror as I shave the grey beard.What has been motivating the heart and soul to follow the life paths they find themselves traveling upon and other discoveries await on the journey within.This is the place I go when I need to find peace for my  soul.

…………….May You Find Your Inner Peace My Friends…………………………

………………….Thecatsman PhD(school of hard knocks)………………………….

This entry was posted in Life, Life Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Place I Go

  1. S. Le says:

    You are making me feel old. Stop it! lol

    I have heard two definitions of PhD:

    1. Piled higher and deeper.

    and from Younger Brother who is a PhD:

    2. Pretty hot doctor.

    Your choice I suppose, innit?

  2. Karla says:

    Many of us go to that same place, getting crowded in there?

  3. bekabunnie says:

    I prefer my version down here where we never reach single digits- although looking in is much harder in the summer when you can feel the heat radiating off the cement, even at midnight. I always like to make a trip to some body of water and walk like this. Hopefully, I’ll still be doing this many years from now, and hopefully… I won’t have the answers. After all, it’s about the journey, isn’t it?

  4. Leslie Kavourakis says:

    Tread carefully Cats, you are in danger of exposing your soul….

Leave a Reply

